Print this page

Gahcho Kué MINE

The Gahcho Kué Mine, a remote fly-in/fly-out location 280km northeast of Yellowknife, De Beers’ third diamond mine in Canada, is in the Northwest Territories.

Gahcho Kué 

Location: 63° 26’ 29.5” latitude and 109° 10’ 36” longitude, about 280 kilometres northeast of Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

Mine Area: 1,200 hectares

Average annual production: ~4.5M Carats

Gahcho Kué Overview

Located at Kennady Lake, approximately 280 km northeast of Yellowknife and 80 km southeast of De Beers’ Snap Lake Mine in the Northwest Territories, the Gahcho Kué Mine is a joint venture between De Beers Canada Inc. (51%) and Mountain Province Diamonds Inc.(49%).

De Beers, as the operator, is committed to operating this new mine to high safety standards and with deep respect for the land. The total capital cost is approximately C$1 billion. The mine began the ramp up of production in early August 2016 and was officially opened on September 20, 2016. The mine commenced commercial production in March 2017.

Gahcho Kué is an open pit operation, mining three kimberlite pipes in sequence: 5034, Hearne and Tuzo. About 530 De Beers and contractor workers are required to operate the mine during the approximately 12 year life of mine.

The mine has received numerous awards:

  • 2018 Overall Surface Winner - NWT/NU Mine Rescue Competition
  • 2017 Surface Smoke Winner - 13th biennial National Western Region Mine Rescue Competition
  • 2017 Overall Surface Winner - NWT/NU Mine Rescue Competition
  • 2017 Hatch-CIM Mining & Metals Project Development Safety Award
  • 2017 Viola R. MacMillan Award from the Prospectors & Developers Association of Canada (PDAC)
  • Gold at 11th annual Project Management Institute (2016) awards gala in Montreal
  • 2016 Workplace Health & Safety Award from the Yellowknife Chamber of Commerce


De Beers is committed to sustainable development in local communities and has signed six Impact Benefit Agreements (IBA) for Gahcho Kué Mine including:

  • North Slave Métis Alliance (July 2013);
  • Tlicho Government (January 2014);
  • Yellowknives Dene First Nation (February 2014);
  • Lutsel K’e and Kache Dene First Nation (July 2014)
  • NWT Métis Nation (December 2014); and,
  • Deninu Kué First Nation (December 2014).